?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Film Reviews

Recent Entries
 

3/26/07 07:05 pm - laraemeadows - Zodiac- Who is the zodiac?



Based on the book by Robert Graysmith, “Zodiac” is by far the best movie made on the subject of the infamous Zodiac Killer. Less thriller and more expose, Zodiac tries to answer the one million dollar question; “Who is the Zodiac?”
Zodiac lives...or does he?Collapse )

3/26/07 06:46 pm - laraemeadows - Pride - A light escapist film



Jim Ellis, a Philadelphia recreation center swim coach, is the true life basis for “Pride.” A light, escapist flick, “Pride” is Hollywood’s newest “Sports Savior” film.

Terrence Howard portrays Jim Ellis, an African American swimmer with a master’s degree in mathematics who can’t find a job because universities find him too black and the black community ridicules him for being educated. Finally, when he can’t find a teaching or coaching job, he takes a job for the City of Philadelphia to pack up a closing recreation center. There he meets crotchety center maintenance man, Elston (Bernie Mac). He reopens the pool and encourages youth to come and swim. What was first recreation, changes when he trains Puddin Head (Brandon Fobbs), Walt (Alphonso McAuley), Willie (Regine Nehy), Hakim (Nate Parker) and Andre (Kevin Phillips) to be competitive swimmers. Each of the characters faces a personal struggle including facing the streets alone, losing an important part of their life, being small, racism, and being abandoned.
be proudCollapse )
 

3/8/07 07:36 pm - laraemeadows - 300-Two Reviews for the Price of One. Man Vs. Woman Face Off!

Kevin, another JPP reviewer has graciously completed a review for 300. That's right, you get two for the price of one. Yes, he is a better writer than me!


Read Both Reviews!Collapse )

3/5/07 10:58 pm - laraemeadows - Premonition - Oh yeah, I'm psychic


I must be psychic because I had a premonition about this movie and it came true! The plot of the movie came to me while relaxing in my living room. I was in a nearly comatose state, my attention solidly on the boob tube when, out of no where, there was a message, from whom, I do not know. It came to me, but in snippets. I consulted with my psychic message adviser (ok, it is my husband) and asked him what he thought this blessed premonition meant. I will not tell you the answer because he, in his magnificence, was able to put the pictures together and figure out the parts that were missing. I will share with you an important insight given to me by my wealth of psychic experience; you don’t need to pay $10 bucks to see “Premonition” in the theaters to see most of the movie and all of the important parts and to figure out the twists. Just be open to psychic messages coming to you though your television, crammed between segments of your favorite show and save yourself the money! Then thank Sony Movies for approving a trailer that tells you the entire plot, if you have imagination enough to figure out the five minute twist they left out! Directed by Mennan Yapo and written by Billy Kelly, “Premonition” is full of problems, from beginning to end.
oh yeah, I’m psychicCollapse )
 

3/5/07 09:03 pm - laraemeadows - Beyond the Gates or Shooting Dogs - made me cry, and tremble with fear


"Beyond the Gates" also called Shooting Dogs, is the story refugees in the Ecole Techniques Officielle (ETO), a secondary Catholic School, in Kigali, Rwanda during the mass genocide of the Tutsi in of 1994. Told through the eyes of those people trapped behind the school gates, "Beyond the Gates" made me cry, tremble with fear and helped me see what our role was, as members of the U.N., passively standing by as hundreds of thousands of people died.
Do not miss this movieCollapse )

3/5/07 08:20 pm - laraemeadows - an unreasonable man - one person can make a difference



"An Unreasonable Man" is a documentary about activist and politician, Ralph Nader. Obviously meant to sway our opinion in favor of Ralph Nader, "An Unreasonable Man" isn't entirely a puff piece and certainly doesn't shy away from the resentment people feel for him. I expected an "Ode to Nader" and in fact it focused on his disappointments as much as his accomplishments.

A reasonable storyCollapse )

3/5/07 07:15 pm - laraemeadows - Starter for 10 - Did they do their talent scouting in a high school?



Have you ever sat though a movie and had a distinct feeling of déjà vu? Sure the names and settings have been changed to protect the innocent but “Starter for 10” will give you that slightly clairvoyant feeling. I guessed the ending ten minutes into the movie; I hate that.

Is there such thing as a good romantic comedy?Collapse )
 

2/23/07 06:33 pm - laraemeadows - Ghost Rider - Action Packed, Plot Dry



“Ghost Rider” is a comic book take of how a curse and a bad decision for the right reason can be used for good. Directed and written by Mark Steven Johnson. Ghost Rider has a lot of the fun qualities about action movies but falls flat when it comes to substantive or interesting plot and occasionally gets downright dumb.
VrumeCollapse )

2/23/07 06:03 pm - laraemeadows - Daddy's Little Girls - almost heartfelt




“Daddy’s Little Girls” is the nearly touching story of a father’s attempts to win custody of his children and for a neighborhood to take back its streets. Written and directed by Tyler Perry, I was surprised by the quality of this movie and the issues it tackles.
cute, sweet and poorly written Collapse )
 

2/23/07 05:43 pm - laraemeadows - Norbit - Ignore it.



“Norbit” is Eddy Murphy’s newest multi character movie and is about a fat wife, and a weakling husband. Directed by Brian Robbins, “Norbit” is one long, annoying fat joke sprinkled with physical humor and a dash of physical humor and all warmed by charming portrayals of domestic violence and animal cruelty.
SHRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIILCollapse )
Powered by LiveJournal.com