?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Film Reviews

Recent Entries
 

5/26/08 02:47 am - rozroc




Hey all,

There is a comedy out called, “Meet The Mobsters”. It’s pretty funny.

Check out the trailer
 

2/22/08 11:34 am - laraemeadows - Be Kind Rewind - MosBlack Surprised Me!



Be Kind Rewind is a sweet, funny, cockle-warming movie sure to make you smile long after you’ve left the theater.

10/13/07 03:34 pm - laraemeadows - Michael Clayton: Boom Run Corporate Guns


Michael Clayton is the fast paced legal, corporate greed and assassination thriller that starts and ends with a bang.  Michael Clayton sizzles with skin crawling gluttony, blood moving action and overflows with tragic characters. Michael Clayton Boom Boom ReviewCollapse )

 

10/10/07 10:55 pm - laraemeadows - The Rocket - A sports movie with a great plot and wonderful acting? Who knew?


The Rocket or Maurice Richard, the biographical story of hockey legend Maurice Richard, is the best sports biography I have ever seen.  It is also the best movie that uses sports to highlight historical bigotry I have ever seen.  It is the best sports movie I have ever seen.

A poor machinist in the slums of Quebec, trying to do his part for the War effort during World War Two, Maurice Richard decides to try out for the Canadiens hockey team.  His amazing talent wasn't enough, though; there were concerns that he was just too frail for hockey.  After an extended time of not playing hockey, the Canadiens put him on the ice where he becomes the legend every hockey player studies.  He struggles with the uncertainty of his job and supporting his wife and children.  During his rise to fame, it is brought to his attention that the French speaking hockey players and citizens are being treated as second class citizens.  Using his fame, and with some trepidation, he decides if he is going to be part of the movement for equality or another quiet French-Canadian who accepts the status quo.

The Rocket is not an uplifting, heartwarming, blood pumping movie shallow in plot, like most sports movies; it is a slower-moving, complex and dramatic biography supplemented by exciting hip checks, high sticking and the occasional fight.  The pacing is like a train going over a mountain, patience is required to go up but your patience is rewarded when you have an exciting trip down the mountain.  There is more plot than hockey and a person who doesn't care about hockey will still enjoy the dramatic feelings and settings cultivated in The Rocket.

The Rocket is as much about the time that Maurice Richard lived in, as it is about him personally.  For those of us not familiar with general World War Two Canadian History, this film gives the audience a brief insight into internal strife during that time in the peaceful giant to the north.  Using such an icon to display the times is a tired way to tell history but in The Rocket, it seems more natural.  Richard is not glorified as beyond human or hero worshiped.  He struggles with the people of his country, the same way they do.


The acting in The Rocket is hard hitting (pun intended), and will hip check (I'm not ashamed to make hockey puns) your emotions when you aren't expecting it.   Roy Dupuis, who plays hockey megastar Maurice Richard, is a quiet storm, rolling over the hills of emotion.   Julie LeBrenton, who plays Lucille Richard, Maurice's wife, performance is like a hurricane blowing in without mercy or regard.  Her performance is a powerful triumph.  No, in case you were wondering, they don't let the professional hockey players act much, thank you director Charles Binamé for making a thoughtful decision.

The Rocket is beautiful.  It's dark and grainy feeling leaves you feeling a little dirty in an industrial way, but intrigued and curious.

In our house, we wouldn't dream of wasting our entertainment money or time on baseball or basketball.  We probably could be bothered to see football on someone else's dime, if there wasn't paint to watch dry.  What we will do is climb a stack of chairs to change the channel at a sports bar during baseball playoffs to watch hockey because we are a hockey family, through and through.  If you've never been to the Shark Tank in San Jose, you just haven't lived.  So believe me when I say the hockey in The Rocket is exceptionally fun to watch and technically correct.  It makes sense because all of the hockey scenes are played with National Hockey League players.  That's right, they don't pretend to play hockey, they actually play professional hockey!  If you are a hockey fan you'll see faces you recognize, like Mike Ricci of the San Jose Sharks.   Even if you aren't a hockey fan, you'll enjoy the hitting and bleeding. 

If you love great hockey, see The Rocket.  If you love great writing, see The Rocket.  If you love phenomenal acting, see The Rocket.  If you aren't a complete idiot, see The Rocket.  Just see The Rocket or I'll see you in the boards!

 

9/4/07 10:33 am - laraemeadows - King of Kong Review and Director Interview



King of Kong-Fist Full of Quarters is the good vs. evil tale of the world champions of Donkey Kong: Billy Mitchell and Steve Wiebe. These characters couldn't have been made up better and if they were fictional, if this weren't a documentary, the film would be unbelievable.

In 1982, Life Magazine did a story on the world's best video gamers at the time. In that picture was Billy Mitchell, the champion of Centipede, Donkey Kong, and Donkey Kong Jr. It was the beginning of Billy's rise to fame. After a scandal rocked the video game world, Walter Day decided he would start Twin Galaxies, the official score keepers for video games. It also became headquarters for the Billy Mitchell Cult. The employees, even Day himself, worship Billy Mitchell with a frightening reverence. Their reverence for Billy makes them absolutely unable to verify a score when newbie Steve Wiebe shatters his record.

Rest of the Review

Seth Gordon, director of documentary film King of Kong: Fist Full of Quarters, a David vs Goliath documentary about two men competing for champion rights to the classic arcade game Donkey Kong, opened up about his new film, its process and his future.

"My favorite place is Fun Spot [arcade in King of Kong]. Family reunions were in New Hampshire. I burn in the sun, so my family would leave me at Fun Spot. It is a family place and they would give tokens for grades. I would think about it all year. I met Steve Wiebe [one of the main characters in the movie] four days after they had been in his garage. At first I thought he was too vanilla but after I met all the players, I wanted to do the project. It took a year and a half."





Rest of the Interview
 

4/13/07 08:49 pm - laraemeadows - ATHFCMFT - A dreadful movie could do so much for the world!

I'm not supposed to post this until Friday but I'll do it just for you! Shh. Keep it on the DL.



Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters (ATHFCMFT) is a cinematic blessing that will surely lead to better film making in the future. Thank you writer and directors Matt Maiellaro and Dave Willis for creating a movie that opens the way for the next great novel.
Wanna know how this movie makes a better world? I'll tell you.Collapse )
 

4/13/07 08:30 pm - laraemeadows - After The Wedding - A+ Movie



After the Wedding (Efter bylluppet) is the marvelously subtle story about the value of family, the decisions we make and the decisions people make for us. It beautifully spins a story of the lengths people will go for who they love and how four people find their worth.
Fantastic MovieCollapse )

3/27/07 08:32 pm - laraemeadows - What Love Is - Pretty Funny.


“What Love Is” tries to answer the question the title asks by cramming emotionally diverse men and women on a small set. A witty spin on romantic comedy, “What Love Is” was an enjoyable exception to the rule that romance and comedy don’t mix.

What is love anyways?Collapse )
 

3/27/07 07:51 pm - laraemeadows - TMNT - Heros on the half shell; TURTLE POWER!



Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Hero’s on the half shell...Turtle Power! Ok, now I have that out of my system. Written and directed by Kevin Monroe, “TMNT” is a revitalization of comics beloved in my childhood. “TMNT” lacks depth, feels like a Saturday morning cartoon but is visually interesting.

Heros on the half shell, turtle power!Collapse )

3/27/07 07:17 pm - laraemeadows - The Last Mimzy-Little Bunny Fu-Fu Hopping Though The Forest



The Last Mimzy” is the cinematic adaptation of C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner’s short story “Mimsy Were the Borogroves.” “The Last Mimzy” is a disappointing movie but an endearing story of the value of a child’s shameless hopefulness.
wiskers and nibblesCollapse )
Powered by LiveJournal.com